I was searching the internet for something else when I came across these vintage photos of a garden house on the Joseph Cudahy estate in Lake Forest Illinois, which was designed in 1930 by David Adler.  Cudahy was a meat packing executive, and his wife Jean Morton, a passionate gardener, was daughter of Secretary of the Interior Sterling Morton, who created Arbor Day.  The garden house was listed as among the ten most endangered buildings in Lake Forest in 2005, apparently being totally neglected with caved in roof.  The main house was recently for sale for in the neighborhood of five million dollars, so laziness, rather than money, would seem the culprit here.  Naturally, I don’t understand, because a little Orangery with arched windows and a fountain pool in the center seems like just the ticket to me here in Maine on a January afternoon, and I can’t imagine it would be any less so in the Chicago area…

Be sure to click on photo for larger to see the fine detail.

